DARK OF SUMMER by E.M. Parsons

Amazon

A Summer Woman, a Child of The Devil, With a Hunger for Men… and Violence

An uncensored wanton was Marie, an unadulterated adultress who lived in a world of men — and enemies. There was a raging furnace fueled by greed and desire. Her passion was to inflame men and then consume them, leaving behind her the ashes of dead loves. In the summer resort where she reigned, man after man felt the touch of her fire, woman after woman shriveled up in her fierce glow…and the human debris mounted. Then the stranger came among them, a man with a past too heavy to carry, with a granite heart and hands to tear the world apart… or snuff out a life. And so they met, fire beat against unmelting rock, and the air of summer was charged with the stifling heat that comes before the storm.

“While still possessing the crime-noir elements, Dark of Summer is a textured romance novel about a man on the run settling into a quiet lakefront community in Pennsylvania. He’s faced with a number of seductive women including Marie, a corrupt businesswoman who’s feuding with owners in a bidding war for coveted real estate. If you enjoy seduction, romance and power struggles, Dark of Summer should fulfill your desires.” The Paperback Warrior

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Elmer Merle Parsons was born in Pittsburgh, PA in 1926. In 1949, when he was 23 years old, he was convicted of burglary and grand theft for stealing a car from a Phoenix used car lot and leading police on a wild chase that ended in a crash. He served three years in Chino State Prison…but didn’t stay free for long. In 1955, he was arrested in Pasadena, CA for passing 22 stolen checks, which he told the court he needed to “tide him over” while awaiting money for a script he claimed he’d sold and because he couldn’t get a job due to his prison record. He was sentenced to five years in prison, which he served at San Quentin, where he became editor of the prison newspaper and sold his first novel, “Self Made Widow,” to Fawcett for $3500 advance under the pen-name “Philip Race.” He wrote wrote & published two more novels, “Killer Take All” and “Johnny Come Deadly,” under his pen name and one western, “Texas Heller,” under his own name. After his release in 1960, he wrote one novel (“Dark of Summer”) and several westerns (“Fargo,” “The Easy Gun”) under his own name and also contributed scripts for many TV series, including Sea Hunt, Cheyenne, Ripcord, Bonanza, The Dakotas, The Virginian and Flipper.

MURDER ON THE ROCKS by Robert Dietrich (E. Howard Hunt)

Amazon
Kobo
Barnes & Noble

The First Novel in the Steve Bentley Series
“The Steve Bentley series simply rocks, a string of entertaining high-energy, hard-boiled romps that are perfect examples of the late fifties/early sixties paperback P.I.”The Thrilling Detective

Ex-spy Steve Bentley works as a Washington D.C. accountant with a tendancy to get into trouble…. and this time it comes from two women, Iris Sewell and her sister Sara, daughters of an American diplomat. A 29-carat emerald known as Madagascar Green is missing from their father’s safe…and the search for it soon pits Steve against drug smugglers and killers.

“Howard Hunt chose Washington, DC, as setting for the Robert Dietrich thrillers starring Steve Bentley. He writes knowledgeably of the brokendown bars, the seedy downtown area, the life along the wharfs in his hard-boiled pages.” Gore Vidal, New York Times

“Steve Bentley [is] series fiction’s toughest tax accountant. This is one of the better books in the Bentley series and most of the tough narrative rings true.” Bill Pronzini & Marcia Muller, 1001 Midnights, The Afficionado’s Guide to Detective Fiction

“As ‘Robert Dietrich,’ E. Howard Hunt wrote ten novels starring Steve Bentley, a Washington D.C. accountant who solves murders in private-eye style. The first thing to know about Bentley is that he isn’t just a paper-pushing CPA. He’s a Korean War veteran who was employed at one time by the U.S. Treasury Department. If you love vintage crime-fiction you should enjoy this tale.” The Paperback Warrior

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Robert Dietrich was a pseudonym for E. Howard Hunt, better known for his role in the Watergate scandal rather than for his great crime novels. Gore Vidal wrote this about “Robert Dietrich” in The New York Times: “In 1957, H.H. gave birth to ‘Robert Dietrich.’ who specialized in thrillers, featuring Steve Bentley, formerly of the CID and now a tax consultant. H.H. plainly enjoys composing plausible (and implausible) biographies for his characters—not to mention for himself. In Contemporary Authors, H.H. composed a bio for his pseudonym Robert Dietrich, taking ten years off his age, putting himself in the infantry during Korea, awarding himself a Bronze Star and a degree from Georgetown.”

FACE OF MY ASSASSIN by Jan Huckins & Carolyn Weston

Amazon

A lost literary classic, back-in-print for the first time in 60 YEARS, a powerful novel in the tradition of IN THE HEAT OF THE NIGHT and TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD

It’s 1959. Matthew Scott is a widowed, alcoholic reporter from New York who seeks personal and professional redemption when he’s sent to the Deep South to write about a town that is defying a U.S. Supreme Court decision to integrate blacks into schools. His mere presence is a catalyst that ignites long-buried racial, political, religious, and personal conflicts among the residents, both white and black, ripping the town apart. Those tensions violently explode when Scott is falsely arrested by the bigoted, tyrannical sheriff for the rape and murder of an out-spoken black schoolteacher.

This is a stunning, shockingly vivid portrait of a dark time in America’s history, a tale of intolerance, bigotry and hope that’s as relevant today as it was sixty years ago…

Praise for FACE OF MY ASSASSIN:

“At sixty-one years distance it’s hard not to read this novel for the remarkable social document it is, for what it says about segregation in the 1950s. The issues Face of My Assassin raises are sometimes brutal and obvious but there’s a lot of subtly here too. As integration is coming to the fore this novel explores prejudice in all its forms –institutional, paternalistic, unconscious — but also the possibility of change and the way people see their own racism. It’s a powerful piece of writing.” NB Magazine UK

“Jan Huckins and Carolyn Weston have a true ear for Southern speech, a sharp eye for Southern style, and an acute feeling for the South…they have treated eloquently a significant segment of the current Southern tragedy in perhaps the only way the sad tale can be told — as fiction with a heavy beat of melodrama.” Arkansas Gazette

“A vivid portrait of a community…the book’s detail is surprisingly sharp. The authors have told a moving story filled with passion and pathos, and a little joy. The final effect is a telling denunciation of racial prejudice.” Arizona Daily Star

“An exciting melodrama dealing with integration in the South…a thorough examination of southern racial attitudes. The book has the power to move and enlighten reader.” Los Angeles Times

“Written in a smooth, expert style, [with] a plot that outdoes Faulkner in imagination.” Dan Wakefield, The Saturday Review

“An exciting novel and one valuable because of its sociological meaning.” Lincoln Journal-Star

“This intense novel will hold your interest and send you racing from page to page as you observe an almost imperceptible change in a bigoted small town. The characters vibrate with life and make this novel one of the most vital of the year.” Napa Valley Star

“A romantinc-realistic novel about the present-day South. This is an especially thought-provoking novel, sympathetic to black and white, and written with admirable objectivity.” Pittsburgh Courier

“They write with indignation and authority, with urgency and verve.. [the book] has something significant to say and tells its story with pace and narrative skill.” Rocky Mountain Telegraph

“While the novel is good melodrama, one may hope that it is also true prophecy. Face of My Assassin makes good reading and has the additional value of suggesting that the problem of segregation-integration issue is not so much that the Southern people have unenlightened opinions as that many of them are too lethargic to stand up and be counted as enlightened ones.” MANAS Journal, Explorations in Ethical Thought