FACE OF MY ASSASSIN by Jan Huckins & Carolyn Weston

Amazon

A lost literary classic, back-in-print for the first time in 60 YEARS, a powerful novel in the tradition of IN THE HEAT OF THE NIGHT and TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD

It’s 1959. Matthew Scott is a widowed, alcoholic reporter from New York who seeks personal and professional redemption when he’s sent to the Deep South to write about a town that is defying a U.S. Supreme Court decision to integrate blacks into schools. His mere presence is a catalyst that ignites long-buried racial, political, religious, and personal conflicts among the residents, both white and black, ripping the town apart. Those tensions violently explode when Scott is falsely arrested by the bigoted, tyrannical sheriff for the rape and murder of an out-spoken black schoolteacher.

This is a stunning, shockingly vivid portrait of a dark time in America’s history, a tale of intolerance, bigotry and hope that’s as relevant today as it was sixty years ago…

Praise for FACE OF MY ASSASSIN:

“At sixty-one years distance it’s hard not to read this novel for the remarkable social document it is, for what it says about segregation in the 1950s. The issues Face of My Assassin raises are sometimes brutal and obvious but there’s a lot of subtly here too. As integration is coming to the fore this novel explores prejudice in all its forms –institutional, paternalistic, unconscious — but also the possibility of change and the way people see their own racism. It’s a powerful piece of writing.” NB Magazine UK

“Jan Huckins and Carolyn Weston have a true ear for Southern speech, a sharp eye for Southern style, and an acute feeling for the South…they have treated eloquently a significant segment of the current Southern tragedy in perhaps the only way the sad tale can be told — as fiction with a heavy beat of melodrama.” Arkansas Gazette

“A vivid portrait of a community…the book’s detail is surprisingly sharp. The authors have told a moving story filled with passion and pathos, and a little joy. The final effect is a telling denunciation of racial prejudice.” Arizona Daily Star

“An exciting melodrama dealing with integration in the South…a thorough examination of southern racial attitudes. The book has the power to move and enlighten reader.” Los Angeles Times

“Written in a smooth, expert style, [with] a plot that outdoes Faulkner in imagination.” Dan Wakefield, The Saturday Review

“An exciting novel and one valuable because of its sociological meaning.” Lincoln Journal-Star

“This intense novel will hold your interest and send you racing from page to page as you observe an almost imperceptible change in a bigoted small town. The characters vibrate with life and make this novel one of the most vital of the year.” Napa Valley Star

“A romantinc-realistic novel about the present-day South. This is an especially thought-provoking novel, sympathetic to black and white, and written with admirable objectivity.” Pittsburgh Courier

“They write with indignation and authority, with urgency and verve.. [the book] has something significant to say and tells its story with pace and narrative skill.” Rocky Mountain Telegraph

“While the novel is good melodrama, one may hope that it is also true prophecy. Face of My Assassin makes good reading and has the additional value of suggesting that the problem of segregation-integration issue is not so much that the Southern people have unenlightened opinions as that many of them are too lethargic to stand up and be counted as enlightened ones.” MANAS Journal, Explorations in Ethical Thought

TORMENTED by Carolyn Weston

Tormented by Carolyn Weston

Amazon

A searing novel of erotic obsession that was a scandalous sensation when it was released in 1956… becoming a rarity that has been desperately pursued by collectors for the last sixty years.

This is the story of five people… of Elizabeth Carnes, driven by a desperate, aching passion to a mysterious lover who is the only one who can give her the physical release her devoted husband can’t provide… of George Carnes, spurned by his wife and forced to seek solace in the womanly warmth of his secretary, the deceptively placid Stella Sander, who hides a voracious sexual appetite…of Jon Steen, the complex, dangerous, bisexual artist who unlocks Elizabeth’s lust… and of Tracy Steen, Jon’s controlling wife, whose neurotic, all-consuming need for love and devotion will lead to a shattering end for them all.

This is the first, published book by Carolyn Weston, the author of the crime novels that became the hit TV series THE STREETS OF SAN FRANCISCO.

TALES OF A SAD FAT WORDMAN by Ralph Dennis

Tales of a Sad, Fat Wordman by Ralph Dennis

Amazon

“Dennis influenced a lot of writers.  He knew how to ride the zeitgeist… if not get ahead of the game. He deserves to be remembered and, more importantly, read.”
NB Magazine UK

The late Ralph Dennis is beloved among crime fiction writers and readers for his Hardman series of detective novels from the 1970s. But little is known about the man himself. This collection of some of Ralph’s early short stories and poetry, framed with excerpts from articles about him and by essays from authors who knew him well, offers an emotional, poignant and ultimately revealing look at how he saw himself… and how his past profoundly shaped his enduring creative work.

“The most beloved obscure private eye writer who ever lived.”
—Ed Gorman, founder of Mystery Scene Magazine

“Dennis is finally receiving the literary accolades he deserves.”
The Paperback Warrior Site

“Like Chandler and Hammett before him, Dennis was trying to do something different with what was thought of as throwaway literature.”
—Joe R. Lansdale, New York Times bestselling author

“Dennis is an underappreciated master.”
—Robert Randisi, founder of the Private Eye Writers of America